Skip to main content

Des Moines

Iowa State Capital

Iowa Capitol building in Des Moines; photo by Jim Bowen on Flickr (use permitted with attribution).

Capital City of Iowa USA

Des Moines is the capital city of Iowa and the seat of Polk county. Located on the Des Moines river,  it was originally called "Fort Des Moines," but the name was shortened to Des Moines in 1857. All State Capitals