Skip to main content

Mount Rushmore

South Dakota Landmark

Mount Rushmore National Memorial in the Black Hills of South Dakota. Photo by Kurt Magoon / Flickr (use permitted with attribution/share alike).

Mt. Rushmore National Memorial

Mount Rushmore, in the Black Hills of South Dakota, includes portraits of U.S. presidents George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Theodore Roosevelt, and Abraham Lincoln carved in granite. Site also features a museum with interactive exhibits. All South Dakota Landmarks

South Dakota's official nickname is "Mt. Rushmore State," and Mount Rushmore is featured on the U.S. Mint's bicentennial commemorative state quarter representing South Dakota. All South Dakota Symbols