Skip to main content


Wisconsin State Capital

Wisconsin State Capitol in Madison; photo by Ryan Wick on Flickr (use permitted with attribution).

Capital City of Wisconsin

Madison is the state capital of Wisconsin and the seat of Dane County. Madison is the second-largest city in Wisconsin (the largest city in the state is Milwaukee).

Downtown Madison is located on an isthmus of land between two of the city's five Lakes. All State Capitals