Skip to main content

Flag of Arkansas

Arkansas State Flag

Flag of Arkansas

The state flag of Arkansas is red, white, and blue to signify that Arkansas is one of the United States. The large diamond represents the only diamond producing state in the USA - Arkansas. 25 white stars show Arkansas as the 25th state to join the Union. Three blue stars below the word ARKANSAS are symbols for the three nations which ruled Arkansas before it became a state (Spain, France, and the United States), and also signify that Arkansas was the third state created out of the Louisiana Purchase. The fourth lone star above the word ARKANSAS represents the Confederacy.

In 1912 the battleship Arkansas was to be commissioned, and the Pine Bluff chapter of The Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) promised to present the ship with an Arkansas state flag for the occasion. However, when they wrote to the Secretary of State to learn more about the flag, he replied that Arkansas had no State flag!

The DAR went into action and held a contest in Arkansas for a state flag design. Miss Willie Hocker from Wabbaseka, AR submitted the winning entry (the Confederate star was not part of this original design, but added later by legislature).

Salute To The State Flag

"I Salute the Arkansas Flag With Its Diamond and Stars. We Pledge Our Loyalty to Thee."

Author: Virginia Belcher Brock