Skip to main content

Crider Soil Series

Kentucky State Soil

Misty Kentucky morning bales of hay on Kentucky farmland. Photo by Tom Gill / Flickr (noncommercial use permitted with attribution/no derivative works).

Official State Soil of Kentucky

Kentucky designated Crider soil series as the official state soil in 1990. The Crider series was established in Caldwell County, Kentucky, in 1957, and was named after a community in the county. All State Soils

Crider soils make up about 500,000 acres in Kentucky and occur in 35 counties in the state. Most of these acres are used for pasture or crops (primarily corn, small grain, soybeans, tobacco, and hay). Crider soils are highly productive, and many acres of these soils are prime farmland.