Skip to main content


Montana State Language

Webster's New Twentieth Century Dictionary 2nd Edition 1958; photo by Simon Robertson on Flickr (noncommercial use permitted with attribution / share alike).

Official State Language of Montana

Montana designated English as the official language for state and local government in 1995. Official state languages have been designated in several states (including Native American languages and American sign language), but the United States does not recognize an official national language. All State Languages

18% of the United States population over the age of 5 speaks a language other than English at home (including Spanish, German, Native American, French, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, Tagalog, Italian, Chinese, Polish, Korean, and Russian).