Western Wheat Grass

South Dakota State Grass


Western wheat grass (Agropyron smithii)

Western wheat grass (Agropyron smithii); photo by Matt Lavin on Flickr (use permitted with attribution / share alike).

Official State Grass of South Dakota

South Dakota designated western wheat (Agropyron smithii) as the official state grass in 1970. This variety of wheat is a common native grass in South  Dakota - it's used primarily as feed for livestock but also harvested for its seed (wheat grass is also a state symbol of North Dakota). All State Plants & Grasses

South Dakota


Grass Idenfitication: Western Wheatgrass

America's Grasslands: A Threatened National Treasure