Skip to main content

Quaking Aspen

Utah State Tree

Quaking Aspen official state tree of Utah Photo by Bradley Tinney / Flickr (use permitted with attribution).

Official State Tree of Utah

Utah designated quaking aspen as the official state tree in 2014, replacing the original state tree; blue spruce, adopted in 1933. All State Trees

This change began with fourth-grade students at Monroe Elementary in Sevier County. The students felt that the blue spruce did not represent Utah as a whole.  They championed the remarkable and unique aspen as the tree symbol of Utah. A stand of aspen trees is really one huge organism that grows from a single root system. Quaking aspen (Populus tremuloides), also called trembling aspen, is found in all 29 Utah counties.