Skip to main content

Code of the West

Wyoming State Code of Ethics

Cowboy in Jackson Hole, Wyoming; photo by rarejacksonholerealestate on Flickr (noncommercial use permitted with attribution).

Official Code of Ethics of Wyoming

An Act declaring "The Code of the West"  as the official state code of Wyoming was signed into law on March 3rd, 2010. Wyoming is the first state to adopt a code of ethics. All Cultural Heritage Symbols

The legislation designates ten ethics derived from the book "Cowboy Ethics" by James P. Owen:

 1.  Live each day with courage.
 2.  Take pride in your work.
 3.  Always finish what you start.
 4.  Do what has to be done.
 5.  Be tough, but fair.
 6.  When you make a promise, keep it.
 7.  Ride for the brand
 8.  Talk less, say more.
 9.  Remember that some things are not for sale.
10. Know where to draw the line.