Skip to main content


Kansas State Language

English word; photo by melanie cook on Flickr (noncommercial use permitted with attribution / no derivative works).

Official State Language of Kansas

Kansas designated English as the official state language in 2007. Many states have adopted official state languages, but the United States does not recognize an official national language. All State Languages

18% of the United States population over the age of five speaks a language other than English at home (including native American languages, Spanish, German, French, Tagalog, Italian, Chinese, Polish, Korean, Russian, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish, and American sign language).