English & American Sign Language

Indiana State Languages

Official State Language of Indiana

The English language was adopted as the official language of the state of Indiana in 1984. All State Languages

There is great language diversity in the United States, and many states have adopted an official state language (not always English). The United States does not recognize an official national language.

American Sign Language

In 1995, Indiana officially recognized American sign language "as a standard, independent language with its own grammar, syntax, vocabulary, and cultural heritage, which is widely used by individuals who hear, individuals who are deaf, and individuals who are hard of hearing in Indiana and in the United States."

American sign language is also a symbol of Maine.



English language dictionaries and references; photo by John Keogh on Flickr (noncommercial use permitted with attribution).

English Language Books


History of the English Language