Skip to main content

Flag of Texas

Texas State Flag

Flag of Texas; photo by JustinTL on Flickr (noncommercial use permitted with attribution / no derivative works).

Official State Flag of Texas

The Texas state flag is the 1839 National flag of the Republic of Texas, which features the famous Lone Star (also seen on the Texas state seal and the U.S. mint's commemorative quarter for Texas). The red, white, and blue of the state flag of Texas represent bravery, purity and loyalty. All State Flags

Six different national flags have flown over Texas representing the countries which have ruled it (France, Spain, Mexico, the Republic of Texas, the Confederate States of America, and the United States of America). Texans proudly wave all six official flags for public displays and expositions.

A rarely-mentioned seventh flag flew over the new Republic of Texas for three years, beginning in 1836. The flag had a blue field with a single gold star in the center, fashioned after the flag of the short-lived Republic of West Florida. That flag symbolized independence and was later used by the Confederate States of America as the "Bonnie Blue Flag;" the lone star remains on the official Texas flag of today (the gold star now white).